DPG is a comprehensive underwater photography website and community for underwater photographers. Learn underwater photography techniques for popular digital cameras and specialized professional underwater equipment (wide angle, macro, super macro, lighting and work flow). Read latest news, explore travel destinations for underwater photography. Galleries of professional and amateur underwater photography including wrecks, coral reefs, undersea creatures, fashion and surfing photography.
Dive Photo Guide

News

The Underwater Club Event: Discussing Competition Winners
By Ian Bongso-Seldrup, February 14, 2024 @ 08:00 PM (EST)


If you’re serious about getting your work recognized in underwater photography competitions, one of the most important things you should be doing is looking carefully at past winners, figuring out what makes them succeed, and thinking about how you can add those winning ingredients into your work.

That’s exactly what pro shooters Nicolas Remy and Alex Mustard are planning to do next week during an online webinar organized by Nicolas’ underwater photography school, The Underwater Club. Alex and Nicolas will be talking about their favorite shots among the winners in the most-recent editions of the three top underwater photography competitions, Underwater Photographer of the Year, DPG Masters, and Ocean Art—UPY is celebrating its 10th anniversary and the winners are being revealed at an awards ceremony in London this Friday (February 16th).

Hear the perspectives of a serial jury member (Alex) and a serial entrant (Nicolas) as they look at the main categories of the three contests, share their personal preferences, and articulate why these shots feel special to them. As with all events from The Underwater Club, they’ll conclude with a Q&A session.

Tickets to the event, which will last around 90 minutes, can currently be purchased at a promotional price of AU$39 (approx. US$26), instead of AU$59 (approx. US$39). Members of The Underwater Club join for free. Here are the event times:

  •     February 21st at 12pm Los Angeles time (PST)
  •     February 21st at 2pm Dallas time (CST)
  •     February 21st at 3pm New York City time (EST)
  •     February 21st at 8pm London time (GMT)
  •     February 22nd at 7am Sydney time (AEDT)

 

RELATED ARTICLES

LATEST EQUIPMENT

AOI UH-GPx
Isotta Housing for OM System OM-1 I & II
SeaLife SportDiver Smartphone Housing
Nauticam Fisheye Conversion Port (FCP)
Ikelite RC1 TTL Receiver for AOI and Backscatter Octo Housings
Be the first to add a comment to this article.
You must be logged in to comment.
Support Our Sponsors
Newsletter
Travel with us

Featured Photographer



Follow Us

Sponsors