DPG is a comprehensive underwater photography website and community for underwater photographers. Learn underwater photography techniques for popular digital cameras and specialized professional underwater equipment (wide angle, macro, super macro, lighting and work flow). Read latest news, explore travel destinations for underwater photography. Galleries of professional and amateur underwater photography including wrecks, coral reefs, undersea creatures, fashion and surfing photography.
Dive Photo Guide


2017 Monterey Shootout Coverage
By Ian Bongso-Seldrup, September 7, 2017 @ 06:00 AM (EST)

Best-of-Show Award and Winner: Advanced Wide Angle Traditional – Clinton Bauder

Just over a week ago, cold-water enthusiasts were back in the creature-rich waters off the Californian coast for another round of the Monterey Shootout, and the awesome selection of winning images from the friendly competition has now been posted. Hosted by the Northern California Underwater Photographic Society (NCUPS) and Backscatter, the shootout saw 137 photographers and videographers battle it out—over a period of just 36 hours—for some cool gear and trip prizes.

The participating photographers produced over 500 images, making sure the judges—Chuck Davis, Todd Winner, and Berkley White—had their work cut out for them. At the end of the day, a sublime jellyfish image shot by Clinton Bauder—the winner in the Advanced Wide Angle Traditional category—was deemed to have best captured the spirit of the event, and clinched the Best-of-Show award. The judges of the videos—Carl Miller, Matt Ferraro, and Jim Decker—had an equally challenging time, with video quality “at an all time high.” Kate Vylet, who put together a thrilling film on macro critters, won the Best Montage video category.

As usual, on either side of the competition were various seminars to give participants the opportunity to pick up some tips and techniques from the pros, which included Jim Decker, Matt Ferraro, Mike Bartick and Erin Quigley. And the Monterey Shootout wouldn’t be complete without a great party to top it all off, and this year was no different, with more than 200 guests making merry. Yet another excellent reason to come back again next year!

See below for a selection of the winners, and click here to see the full gallery of impressive winning images and videos.

Winner: Advanced Wide Angle Unrestricted – Roeland Papen

Winner: Advanced Macro Traditional – Reggie Brown

Winner: Advanced Macro Unrestricted – Aaron Halstead

Winner: Beginner Wide Angle Traditional – Chelsey Morphis

Winner: Beginner Macro Traditional – Michael Alyono

Winner: Video – Kate Vylet




Isotta Housing for OM System OM-1 I & II
SeaLife SportDiver Smartphone Housing
Nauticam Fisheye Conversion Port (FCP)
Ikelite RC1 TTL Receiver for AOI and Backscatter Octo Housings
Be the first to add a comment to this article.
You must be logged in to comment.
Support Our Sponsors
Travel with us

Featured Photographer

Follow Us