DPG is a comprehensive underwater photography website and community for underwater photographers. Learn underwater photography techniques for popular digital cameras and specialized professional underwater equipment (wide angle, macro, super macro, lighting and work flow). Read latest news, explore travel destinations for underwater photography. Galleries of professional and amateur underwater photography including wrecks, coral reefs, undersea creatures, fashion and surfing photography.
Dive Photo Guide


Event Coverage: Lembeh-Gulen Critter Shootout 2016 – Final Round
By Sarah Wormald, May 28, 2016 @ 08:00 AM (EST)
Source: Lembeh-Gulen Critter Shootout

The winners: Team Lembeh

After the final day of online voting in the Lembeh-Gulen Critter Shootout, Team Lembeh emerged victorious, beating their opponents, Team Gulen, in the last round. The first round (nudibranchs) had gone to Team Gulen while the second round (invertebrates) had been clinched by Team Lembeh, so the teams were level going into the last challenge—fish.

In the final round, Team Lembeh’s images took the first four spots, including first place of a “goby in a bottle” by Greg Sherman. With all the results in, Team Lembeh took the overall Critter Shootout title by a margin of 59.2% to 40.8%.

Media partner DPG congratulates all the participants and winners of the inaugural competition!

Team Gulen

Award ceremonies were held last night in both resorts, Gulen Dive Resort and Lembeh Resort, with prizes from Ursuit Dry Suits, World Wide Dive and Sail, Bali Scuba, Fourth Element, i-DiveSite, Fotografit, Murex Dive Resorts, Selayar Dive Resort and Scuba Diver Australasia.

Individual participants were ranked as follows:

Team Lembeh

  • 1st Wayne MacWilliams
  • 2nd Gerardo Arriaga
  • 3rd Greg Sherman
  • 4th Debbie Arriaga
  • 5th Richard Charlton
  • 6th Martin Gerard
  • 7th Nick More

Team Gulen

  • 1st Luc Rooman
  • 2nd Ingrid Thea Olberg
  • 3rd Atle Ove Martinessum
  • 4th Bjornar Nygard
  • 5th Dag Leslie Hansen
  • 6th Johan Bjorklund
  • 7th Rune Edvin Haldorsen
  • 8th Morten Bjorn Larsen
  • 9th Einar Yohsuka Kosaka

Check out the fish round winning images below:

Fish Round: (1st) Ornate goby (Lubricogobius ornatus), Greg Sherman (Team Lembeh)

Fish Round: (2nd) Weedy filefish, Richard Charlton (Team Lembeh)

Fish Round: (3rd) Ornate goby, Martin Gerard (Team Lembeh)

Fish Round: (4th) Banggai cardinalfish (Pterapogon kaudemi), Jerry Arriaga (Team Lembeh)

Fish Round: (5th) Lipophrys pholis, Atle Ove Martinussen (Team Gulen)

“Nudibranch warriors” Team Gulen

Members of the victorious Team Lembeh



Fantasea FG7X II
Ikelite Housing for Nikon D500
I-DiveSite Venom 35s
SeaLife DC2000
Be the first to add a comment to this article.
You must be logged in to comment.
Support Our Sponsors
Travel with us

Featured Photographer

Follow Us