DPG is a comprehensive underwater photography website and community for underwater photographers. Learn underwater photography techniques for popular digital cameras and specialized professional underwater equipment (wide angle, macro, super macro, lighting and work flow). Read latest news, explore travel destinations for underwater photography. Galleries of professional and amateur underwater photography including wrecks, coral reefs, undersea creatures, fashion and surfing photography.
Dive Photo Guide


2019 Monterey Shootout Coverage
By Ian Bongso-Seldrup, September 5, 2019 @ 05:00 AM (EST)

Best-of-Show Award and Winner: Video (Montage) – Maxwel Hohn

From August 22nd–25th, shooters returned to the cool waters off the California coast for some more friendly competition during the Monterey Shootout—and the awesome winning images and videos have now been posted. Hosted by Backscatter and the Northern California Underwater Photographic Society (NCUPS), the shootout saw some 172 shooters compete for their share of sweet gear and trip prizes.

With so many participants, the photo judges—Chuck Davis, Berkley White, Sterling Zumbrunn, and Becca Boring—had more than 600 images to pore over. Meanwhile, the video judges—Carl Miller, Jim Decker, and Rusty Sanoian—had a similarly tough task, with nearly 80 videos in contention. Interestingly, the winner of the top prize—the Best-of-Show Award—went not to a photo but a video: Maxwel Hohn’s first place film in the Video (Montage) category.

As always, the Shootout was also an opportunity for participants to learn some tips and techniques from the pros during the event’s various seminars, and of course, after two solid days of diving, there was a great party—with over 200 guests in attendance—to round it all off.

See below for a selection of the winners, and click here to see the full gallery of impressive winning images and videos.

Winner: Advanced Wide Angle Traditional – Joe Platko

Winner: Advanced Wide Angle Unrestricted – Maxwel Hohn

Winner: Advanced Macro Traditional – Jon Anderson

Winner: Advanced Macro Unrestricted – Desmond Ho

Winner: Intermediate Wide Angle Traditional – Ian Markham

Winner: Intermediate Wide Angle Unrestricted – Andrew McCurdy

Winner: Intermediate Macro Traditional – Heather Reiff

Winner: Intermediate Macro Unrestricted – Nathan Coy

Winner: Beginner Wide Angle Traditional – Megan Pitcavage

Winner: Beginner Wide Angle Unrestricted – Valerie Saidman

Winner: Beginner Macro Traditional – Joyce Wong

Winner: Beginner Macro Unrestricted – Tomas Grim


Winner: Video (Montage) – Maxwel Hohn

Winner: Video (Snapshot Wide Angle) – Tyler Schiffman

Winner: Video (Snapshot Macro) – Alex Seys



Fantasea FG7X II
Ikelite Housing for Nikon D500
I-DiveSite Venom 35s
SeaLife DC2000
Be the first to add a comment to this article.
You must be logged in to comment.
Support Our Sponsors
Travel with us

Featured Photographer

Follow Us